Home » In Between » REFLECTIONS ON THE PASSING OF A DEAR FRIEND. . .

REFLECTIONS ON THE PASSING OF A DEAR FRIEND. . .

BIRTH AND DEATH AND IN BETWEEN

long island soundI sat on a bench outside her house, staring at the liquid gray sea that was tightly framed by heavy, dark clouds. It looked cold and lonely. Gulls flew overhead, their plaintive cries echoing the sorrow in my heart. My friend had passed away the day before. It all felt wrong and it also felt perfect. I began to sob. Emotions that had been carefully tucked away for a week now demanded expression. I felt the ripping pain of loss and grief because I love her and will miss her, as will so many others whose lives she so lovingly touched. I also rejoiced because I was deeply moved and inspired by how graciously she lived and how auspiciously she died. I thought… she has shown us how to do this. Pay heed.

She embodied the compassionate teachings of the Buddha throughout her life – in her work and in her relationships…

View original post 533 more words

2 thoughts on “REFLECTIONS ON THE PASSING OF A DEAR FRIEND. . .

  1. Dear Candy,This is beautiful and oh so touching. I am so grateful that you had such a deep relationship with Renee. I didn’t know her well – just received her many kindnesses while she worked at Mt Market. I just lost a dear friend today from cancer. She was 62 I think. Not very old. A trooper to the last.An incredible artist and a love of life. It is sad and at the same time I am not so certain anymore that dying is a bad thing in the scheme of our lives like I used to think.  As you wrote, as we get older more of us fall away – the clock is indeed ticking for all of us. It is part of the cycle and though I don’t have any clear belief in what happens after death, I do feel it is a continuum.  So thank you for reposting your words about Renee. They are dear as are you. I love you lots and lots! For eternity!Randi  Randi de Santa AnnaPO Box 1249Seeley Lake MT. 59868www.ihiketowrite.comwww.bigguys.zenfolio.com

    From: BIRTH AND DEATH AND IN BETWEEN To: r_and_ia@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, January 23, 2017 3:56 PM Subject: [New post] REFLECTIONS ON THE PASSING OF A DEAR FRIEND. . . #yiv7411688068 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7411688068 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7411688068 a.yiv7411688068primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7411688068 a.yiv7411688068primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7411688068 a.yiv7411688068primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7411688068 a.yiv7411688068primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7411688068 WordPress.com | candacepalmo posted: “I wrote this three years ago, and since then, three more of my dear friends have passed. Everyone in my generation is now aware of the ticking of the clock. It seems timely to post this again.” | |

  2. Hello dear Randi, Thank you for your kind words. This particular story was actually not about Renee. It was a dear friend of mine who died in Connecticut, Cynthia Toth. I was at her side the last week of her life.

Leave a Reply

