Home » In Between » TRANSIENT GLOBAL AMNESIA – A NIGHT NOT REMEMBERED. . .

TRANSIENT GLOBAL AMNESIA – A NIGHT NOT REMEMBERED. . .

HERE’S THE PART OF THE STORY I CAN REMEMBER

MEMORY LOSS NEURONS PICHe came into the room wearing a stethoscope around his neck and sat down on the black stool next to my bedside. A chart rested on his lap; he glanced at it from time to time, flipping the pages back and forth—“hmm, hmm.” Then he looked up. I stared at him, perplexed; I seemed to be wearing a hospital gown, and IV fluids were dripping into my right arm. I cleared my throat. “Uh… where am I and what am I doing here?” I asked. “I’m a doctor and you’re in the emergency room. You have a condition called Transient Global Amnesia (TGA),” he replied, enunciating every word carefully. I looked around the room, trying to get my bearings. “Excuse me? Amnesia?” I stammered, my mouth suddenly feeling dry. He spoke again. “Yes, that’s right. Can you remember that you have been asking me that same question over and over and over again these past few hours?” I looked at him. Hard. “I’ve never seen you before in my life!” I declared. A familiar voice came from the corner of the room. It was my son-in-law. “Actually, you two have met. He’s been taking care of you since we arrived hours ago.

The doctor continued to talk, but it was hard to focus. It sounded like he was speaking under water. I struggled to take in what he was saying. “You’re a textbook case. The brain totally loses the ability to lay down any short-term memory.”

…This onset of TGA is generally fairly rapid, and its duration varies but generally lasts between 2 to 8 hours. A person experiencing TGA typically has memory only of the past few minutes or less, and cannot retain new information beyond that period of time. One of its bizarre features is perseveration, in which the victim of an attack faithfully and methodically repeats statements or questions, complete with profoundly identical intonation and gestures “as if a fragment of a sound track is being repeatedly rerun…”       Wikipedia

“We have no clear explanation. Migraines, a seizure, sudden immersion in hot or cold water, an emotional shock… Your CT scan was normal (They did a CT scan!).” I closed my eyes, desperately trying to remember… It was midnight. There were loud voices next door in the duplex. I got up to check that my doors were locked. Crawled back to bed, then… Kaput. Nothing. Zip. Until now…

HERE’S THE PART OF THE STORY WHERE I WAS APPARENTLY CHANNELING MY INNER DORA (FINDING NEMO)

Dory posterThey pieced the story together for me. Apparently, I called 911—four times! (They checked my phone log.) Apparently, the police came out twice. And apparently, I called my family down the street and my son-in-law drove me to the emergency room. They reported that I was reasonably coherent and cooperative, even cheerful. Was able to register at the desk, answer questions, produce my insurance cards, change into a hospital gown, and even give them a urine sample. But—like a finger tracing on water—everything was disappearing behind me, each moment a fresh beginning, a new start.

Where am I and what am I doing here?

Where am I and what am I doing here?

 There is, of course, more to this story. Stay tuned.

3 thoughts on “TRANSIENT GLOBAL AMNESIA – A NIGHT NOT REMEMBERED. . .

  1. Good heavens, Candace!!!! What a bizarre experience… never heard of such a thing before. Hope you are feeling OK now and that your memory has returned (I imagine the events of the evening will elude your forever. Maybe another cause of TGA is brain overload… you sure have had a lot on your plate lately, with Renee and Denise. Let me know if there is anything I can do to ease your load. At least Renee is in Arcata now and seems most happy to be there. Love, Pat and Bruce Date: Sun, 29 Mar 2015 18:18:51 +0000 To: patnbruce@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

